Grand Slam Of Darts – Group Stage Roundup

The group stages of the Grand Slam of Darts have now concluded in Wolverhampton. Damien Morris provides a comprehensive roundup of all the action.

Michael Van Gerwen ended up winning Group A after he finished up with a 100% record in his three matches after he managed to edge past Wigan qualifier Darren Webster 5-4,  before steamrolling past Belgian Kim Huybrechts and fellow compatriot Jan Dekker 5-2 and 5-0 respectively.

Huybrechts finished second in the group after he managed to beat Webster in his final match 5-1, following Dekker’s failure to win his last match of the group against Van Gerwen.

BDO player Alan Norris won Group B after he managed to beat Ronny Huybrechts in his first match 5-2, despite a three dart average of only 85. He then beat European Championship finalist Terry Jenkins 5-1, in which he managed three ton plus checkouts of 161, 154 and 124, and a much improved three dart average of 99 against “The Raging Bull”.

He will now play Kim Huybrechts in the last 16. Jenkins ended up finishing runner-up in Group B after managing to beat former Grand Slam of Darts champion Scott Waites 5-2. He then recovered from losing to Norris by crushing Belgian Huybrechts 5-1 to seal his place in the last 16 where he will face Van Gerwen in a repeat of the European Championship final.

Dave Chisnall managed to comfortably win Group C after he managed to beat both Keegan Brown and Rowby-John Rodrigues 5-1, before he lost his final game to former World Champion Adrian Lewis.

He failed to qualify from Group C after he lost his first match 5-2 to World Youth Darts Championship finalist Rodriguez, before getting humiliated 5-1 by World Youth Darts Championship winner Brown who managed to beat Lewis in style with a checkout of 121.

Brown managed to beat Rodrigues 5-3 in their final group game to finish second after finishing in some style with a checkout of 120.

Raymond Van Barneveld ended up winning Group D after finishing up with a 100% record in his three matches after he managed to beat BDO dart player Robbie Green 5-3, before he luckily edged past fellow compatriot Vincent Van Der Voort 5-4, and then eased past Robert Thornton 5-2 in his final match.

He will now face Keegan Brown in the last 16. Robbie Green finished second in the group after claiming two wins in his last two matches against  Thornton and  Van Der Voort to take his place in the last 16, where he will now play Dave Chisnall.

Damien Morris, Pundit Arena

Read More About: adrian lewis, alan norris, Darts, darts news, grand slam of darts, keegan brown, kim huybrechts, michael van gerwen, raymond van barneveld, robbie green, robert thornton, ronny huybrechts, terry jenkins, vincent van der voort

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. View all posts by The PA Team