Home Tag Archives: team of the year

Tag Archives: team of the year

No Clifford Or Kilkenny As Sunday Game Name Team Of The Year

sunday game

Following the completion of a historic five-in-a-row Dublin have seven representatives on The Sunday Game Team of the Year. Captain and leader Stephen Cluxton is joined on the panel by Mick Fitzsimons, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Paul Mannion and Con O’Callaghan. Beaten finalists Kerry boast two players on the team with Tom O’Sullivan named at corner-back and David …

Read More »

The Irish Team Of The Year From Across The English Leagues

Over the past week the Teams of the Year in the Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two were announced, with five Irish players included across four divisions. Middlesbrough’s Darren Randolph was included in goal in the Championship’s best XI, Luton’s James Collins and Sunderland’s Aiden McGeady were in the third tier equivalent while Bury pair Joe Murphy and …

Read More »

Dublin Dominate Pundit Arena Football Team Of The Year

Another football season has come to a close and while many would have predicted the outcome, the championship provided us with some outstanding performers, all of whom are named in the PA Football Team of the Year. 1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan) Rory Beggan had a fantastic season for Monaghan and was a key part of the reason why they got …

Read More »

It’s Hard To Disagree With BBC’s World Rugby Team Of The Year

2017 was a remarkable year of rugby union, including a cracking Six Nations, an absorbing Lions tour, and another dominant Rugby Championship win for the All Blacks. As the year draws to a close, the usual reviews and debates are taking place, and BBC Radio Five Live put together a team of the year. Naturally, this will always lead to …

Read More »

The Dublin County Championship Team Of The Year Is Littered With Talent


Following a thoroughly entertaining Dublin Senior Football Championship this year, St Vincent’s were crowned champions with a win over Ballymun Kickhams in the final. After the excellent coverage by eir Sport of the games, we were treated to some crackers at Parnell Park. While Rathnew shocked the northside club in the Leinster Championship, it was still a groundbreaking year for the …

Read More »

The Minor Hurling Team Of The Year Is Packed With Future Stars

Minor Hurling

The All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship in 2017 was certainly a cracker. There were thrills and spills throughout, with several highlights from which to choose. Both semi-finals in Munster went to extra-time, as Clare edged Limerick and Cork needed a replay to see off Tipperary. Indeed, the second clash between the Rebels and the Premier drew over 8,000 spectators to Páirc …

Read More »

Do You Agree With The Sunday Game’s Hurling Team Of The Year?

So that’s a wrap. The 2017 Senior Hurling Championship will go down in the books as a reasonably enjoyable season. All the pressure throughout the summer was on Galway, and whether they could back up their League promise with a first All-Ireland title in 29 years. However, it was Cork who grabbed the early headlines of the summer, as they …

Read More »

Can We Call This Dublin Team One Of The Greats Yet?

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final Replay, Croke Park, Dublin 1/10/2016 Dublin vs Mayo Dublin's captain Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

They say good teams win titles, but great teams win them twice. That is, however, a simplistic approach in determining what teams enter the conversation as all-time greats. Yes, Dublin retained their title and yes, their unbeaten run is mightily impressive, but are we ready to christen this set of Dublin players amongst the game’s all-time elite teams? Their Leinster record …

Read More »

GAA: Pundit Arena’s Football Team Of The Year

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final Replay, Croke Park, Dublin 1/10/2016 Dublin vs Mayo Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly scores their first goal of the game with a penalty past Mayo goalkeeper David Clarke Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Now that the GAA’s inter-county season is over, it’s time to focus on picking our Pundit Arena Football Team of the Year. Before we get down to the nitty-gritty of naming the team, a few points must be made: It’s easy to give all the spots to the All-Ireland finalists, however we tried to spread the awards around and acknowledge …

Read More »

Making A Premier League Team Of The Year With 50 Million Euro

Manchester United

Its’s award season for football and the Premier League’s best and brightest are lauded at award ceremonies by their fellow professionals. Winning such an award increases any player’s value immensely. But what about the not so valuable? Using estimated transfer values from Transfermarkt, this writer assembled an impressive side with just 50 million euro. Goalkeeper – Kasper Schmeichel – 5 Million …

Read More »

Video: World Rugby Announce Coach & Team Of The Year Nominees

World Rugby have just released their Coach of the Year and Team of the Year nominees.  Four countries have been selected for the Team of the Year accolade – Japan, Argentina, New Zealand and Australia. The Coach of the Year will also be chosen from one of these four countries, with Steve Hansen (New Zealand), Michael Cheika (Australia), Daniel Hourcade (Argentina) and Eddie …

Read More »

Guinness Pro12 Team of the Year Announced

The official Guinness Pro 12 Team of the Year was announced today. League leaders Glasgow Warriors, Ospreys, and Ulster all have three players on the side. Irish sides Munster and Connacht have two apiece, while Scarlets and Edinburgh have one each to complete the line-up. Last year’s champions Leinster’s disappointing season means that they are without any player on the side, although …

Read More »