Home Rugby Alun Wyn Jones To Captain Lions Against Crusaders This Weekend

Alun Wyn Jones To Captain Lions Against Crusaders This Weekend

After a disappointing defeat at the hands of the Blues, Warren Gatland has announced a rejigged team for the Crusaders match on Saturday. 

Wales and Lions veteran Alun Wyn Jones will lead the Lions for the third game of the tour as the Lions look to return to winning ways against the unbeaten Christchurch outfit.

Jonathan Davies, Conor Murray, George North and Sean O’Brien will also be included for the first time on this tour, meaning everyone will have had a run out by the time the Lions face the Highlanders on June 13.

Speaking of his rearranged starting XV, Gatland toasted to the experience this side will possess (via the Lions’ official website).

“The aim was always to start everyone in the first three matches and this selection ensures that we achieve this.

“This is an experienced team with nine of the starting 15 players having featured in 2013.”

The 53-year-old went on to discuss the disappointment of the Blues defeat and just how difficult this next game will be for his men.

“Our squad is working hard and we are seeing improvement in their performances both at training and in the games.

“Last night’s results against the Blues was disappointing and we know we can’t afford to give away so many penalties.

“We are looking forward to the clash against the Crusaders and we expect a tough game against the most successful team in Super Rugby history.”

The British & Irish Lions XV To Take On Crusaders:

15 Stuart Hogg – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, #783
14 George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, #792
13 Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, #778
12 Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England, #815
11 Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales, #832
10 Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, #780
9 Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland, #790

1 Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, #787
2 Jamie George – Saracens, England, #818
3 Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland, #817
4 Alun Wyn Jones (capt) – Ospreys, Wales, #761
5 George Kruis – Saracens, England, #819
6 Peter O’Mahony – Munster, Ireland, #833
7 Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland, #796
8 Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, #779


16 Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales, #829
17 Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland, #827
18 Dan Cole – Leicester, England, #794
19 Maro Itoje – Saracens, England, #825
20 CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland, #831
21 Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales, #820
22 Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland, #791
23 Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England, #816

Rob Lyons, Pundit Arena

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.