Close sidebar

World Rugby Announce 2016 Player Of The Year


With the November internationals in full swing, attentions temporarily turned to World Rugby’s annual awards and who would scoop the prizes.

In the men’s category, Beauden Barrett was the clear favourite following his masterful form with the All Blacks. The 25-year-old’s imperious year for both club and country has seen the Hurricanes lift the Super Rugby title with Barrett himself racking up over 200 points.

With Steve Hansen and the National side, his play at ten was essential to New Zealand’s unbeaten run, only ended last week by Ireland.

Ireland’s own Jamie Heaslip was nominated along with England’s Owen Farrell, Mario Itoje and Billy Vunipola. Barrett’s teammate Dane Coles also made the list.

And sure enough, the out-half took home the big one.

While the Irishman missed out on the most prestigious prize, he did pick up the Try of the Year trophy earlier in the night.

As for the women’s category, England’s Sarah Hunter, France’s Gaelle Mignot and Kiwi Fiao’o Fa’amausili were up for the top award with the former winning on the night.

You can find out who scooped the rest of the trophies here.

Rory Murphy, Pundit Arena

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at