Home Rugby Tyrrells Premier 15s Women’s League Launched

Tyrrells Premier 15s Women’s League Launched

Image credit: Tyrrells Premier 15s/Twitter.

On Wednesday the Tyrrells Premier 15s was launched, which will be the new title given to the domestic women’s rugby competition in England. 

A three-year partnership with crisp manufacturers Tyrells will add to the £2.4 million investment in women’s rugby being made by the RFU ahead of this new venture.

The league format is pretty standard with each of the ten teams involved playing home and away before the top four sides move onto the semi-final stage and ultimately the final following the conclusion of the regular season in late March 2018.

Commenting on the launch of this new league, ahead of its big kick-off on September 16, RFU director of professional rugby Nigel Melville had this to say:

“The Tyrrells Premier 15s competition is an important step forward for women’s rugby to strengthen the foundations of the women’s game as it continues to grow in popularity. By investing at domestic level we can build a sustainable model to support the growth of the game at elite level.

“The competition will crucially expand the playing pool of players available for international selection which will enable us to reach our long-term objective of running dual professionalised 15s and sevens programmes and allow us to compete on all fronts at the highest level.”

The ten teams involved in the competition are as follows:

  • Bristol Ladies
  • Darlington Mowden Park Sharks
  • Firwood Waterloo Ladies
  • Harlequins Ladies
  • Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC
  • Loughborough Lightning
  • Richmond FC
  • Saracens Women
  • Wasps FC Ladies
  • Worcester Valkyries

The fixture list for the coming season can be found here. 

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.