Home Rugby The Telegraph’s Wonder Kid XV

The Telegraph’s Wonder Kid XV

This up and coming XV will get supporters very excited about the future.

Writing in The Telegraph, Mick Cleary selected a world XV made up of players who have not yet earned more than 20 caps and are under 25 years of age.

While some will argue that Cleary has included too many English players in his selection, it must be remembered that England have featured in the final of the annual World Rugby Under 20 Championship on six occasions since the inaugural tournament was held in 2008.

Indeed while New Zealand won the first four tournaments, the Baby Blacks have only managed to lift the trophy on one occasion since 2012.

Within that context it may be understandable as to why Cleary includes more English players than All Blacks. Nevertheless some of his selections remain open to question.

  1. Scott Sio (Australia)
  2. Jamie George (England)
  3. Kieran Brookes (England)
  4. Lood de Jager (South Africa)
  5. Maro Itoje (England)
  6. Sean McMahon (Australia)
  7. Ardie Savea (New Zealand)
  8. Jack Clifford (England)
  9. Vasil Lobzhanidze (Georgia)
  10. Lima Sopoaga (New Zealand)
  11. Nehe Milner-Skudder (New Zealand)
  12. Malaki Fekitoa (New Zealand)
  13. Gael Fickou (France)
  14. Santiago Cordero (Argentina)
  15. Anthony Watson (England)

Alan Drumm, Pundit Arena

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.