Close sidebar

Stephen Jones’ Lions Squad Selection Is Characteristically Controversial

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND - SEPTEMBER 07: Warren Gatland is announced as the Head Coach of the British & Irish Lions for the 2017 Tour to New Zealand during the British and Irish Lions Press Conference at Standard Life House on September 7, 2016 in Edinburgh, Scotland. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Warren Gatland was confirmed as head coach of the British and Irish Lions this week, and naturally there has been a lot of talk surrounding the upcoming tour to New Zealand.

Outspoken pundit Stephen Jones has chipped in with his two cents, and has picked his squad in his Sunday Times column.

To be fair, Jones has made some brave calls which may turn out to be the correct decision, but it is impossible to pick a squad that will please everyone. However there is surely outrage at some omissions.

BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 22: Lions captain Sam Warburton celebrates during the First Test match between the Australian Wallabies and the British & Irish Lions at Suncorp Stadium on June 22, 2013 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

There is no room for Stuart Hogg, Jonathan Sexton, George Ford nor Robbie Henshaw.

Stephen Jones’ squad for the British and Irish Lions tour of New Zealand:

Full-backs: Leigh Halfpenny (Wales), Rob Kearney (Ireland).

Wings: Tommy Seymour (Scotland), Anthony Watson (England), George North (Wales).

Centres: Scott Williams (Wales), Jonathan Joseph (England), Jamie Roberts (Wales), Duncan Taylor (Scotland).

Fly-halves: Owen Farrell (England), Dan Biggar (Wales), Ruaridh Jackson (Scotland).

Scrum-halves: Conor Murray (Ireland), Rhys Webb (Wales), Ben Youngs (England).

Props: Jack McGrath (Ireland), Joe Marler (England), Mako Vunipola (England), Dan Cole (England), WP Nel (Scotland).

Hookers: Dylan Hartley (England), Luke Cowan-Dickie (England), Jamie George (England).

Locks: George Kruis (England), Luke Charteris (Wales), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Maro Itoje (England), Iain Henderson (Ireland).

Flankers: John Hardie (Scotland), James Haskell (England), Ros Moriarty (Wales), Sam Warburton (Wales).

No 8s: Billy Vunipola (England), Toby Faletau (Wales).


Hat-tip to RugbyLad.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.