Close sidebar

South Africa Introduce New Overseas Selection Policy

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA - OCTOBER 08: Damian de Allende of South Africa during the The Rugby Championship match between South Africa and New Zealand at Growthpoint Kings Park on October 08, 2016 in Durban, South Africa. (Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Share and Enjoy !

As of July 1, South Africa can only select overseas players who have been capped more than 30 times on the international stage.

The policy replaces the current selection process where any player eligible to represent South Africa could potentially be picked by the Springbok management.

However, the head coach will be allowed to select any player, regardless of caps in a World Cup year.

The policy comes into effect this year after a three-test series against France.

Mark Alexander, President of SA Rugby laid out the simple reasoning behind the move.

“We are sending a message to young players that if they wish to play for the Springboks, then they must remain in South Africa.

“We have made this change in what we believe are the best interests of the Springbok team but we will review it periodically in conjunction with the national coach.” Quote via RugbyDump.

Comparing South Africa to other southern hemisphere nations, New Zealand do not select overseas-based players regardless of the number of times they’ve been capped and Australia only select overseas players who have amassed more than 60 caps for the Wallabies.

Established Springboks such as Marcel Coetzee (28 caps) and Vincent Koch (9) will miss out on future internationals unless they return to South African shores.

South African overseas players such as Duane VermeulenMorne Steyn, Willem Alberts, Francois Louw, JP Pietersen, Willie Le Roux and Francois Hougaard are all eligible under the new selection policy.

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at