Close sidebar

Short List For European Player Of The Year Announced

Saracens v Leicester Tigers - Aviva Premiership

European rugby chiefs have unveiled the short list for the player of the year award.

With the season coming to a close, organisers of the European Rugby Champions and Challenge Cups, European Professional Club Rugby, have unveiled the nominees for the player of the year award.

Like many of these prizes, the player of the year award is voted for by the public, who have until after the final whistle has been blown in the Champions Cup final to make their decision.

As expected, the short list is dominated by players from clubs who have qualified for the Champions Cup quarter finals.

Nevertheless, Toulon’s Steffon Armitage and Guilhem Guirado have been nominated, alongside Thomas Waldrom of the Exeter Chiefs and Jack Clifford of Harlequins, who is the only Challenge Cup representative to have made the short list.

As expected, Saracens dominate the list with four nominees, while Wasps’ impressive campaign sees three of their players included.

Dan Carter has been nominated on his debut season, alongside Racing team mate, Juan Imhoff. Northampton’s George North and Leicester Tigers’ Vereniki Goneva complete the list.

Altogether 15 players have been nominated for the prize by a panel of experts that includes, Stuart Barnes, Mick Cleary and Dimitri Yachvili.

Nominees for the European Player of the Year Award:

Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
Dan Carter (Racing 92)
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
Guilhem Guirado (RC Toulon)
Juan Imhoff (Racing 92)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
George North (Northampton Saints)
Charles Piutau (Wasps)
George Smith (Wasps)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)

Alan Drumm, Pundit Arena

Heineken Rugby Club celebrates and rewards real supporters who make the game what it is.

Heineken Rugby Club – where rugby meets the world.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.