Home Rugby Sexton Misses Out For Leinster As Munster Make Five Changes Ahead Of Champions Cup

Sexton Misses Out For Leinster As Munster Make Five Changes Ahead Of Champions Cup

The Champions Cup gets underway this weekend, with the Irish provinces eager to make an even bigger impact on the competition this season.

Ulster get things underway tonight, at home to Wasps.

Meanwhile, Leinster and Munster have named their teams, and there is a noteworthy absentee for the Dublin 4 outfit as they prepare to take on Montpellier.

Johnny Sexton misses out, after putting in a man of the match display against Munster last weekend. This comes as a hammer blow, as they look to get off to the best possible start in Europe.

Leinster team to face Montpellier:

Joey Carbery, Adam Byrne, Robbie Henshaw, Isa Nacewa (C), Barry Daly, Ross Byrne, Luke McGrath; Jack McGrath, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy, Rhys Ruddock, Josh Van Der Flier, Jack Conan.

Subs: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Jordi Murphy, Jamison Gibson-Park, Noel Reid, Fergus McFadden.

Guinness PRO14, Aviva Stadium, Dublin 7/10/2017 Leinster vs Munster Leinster's Robbie Henshaw Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

Meanwhile, Munster have made five changes after their loss in the Aviva Stadium.

Tyler Bleyendaal returns to out-half, as Ian Keatley drops to the bench.

Simon Zebo and Darren Sweetnam make their way back into the side, as does Rory Scannell.

Mark Flanagan and Stephen Archer are the other two changes.

Munster team to face Castres:

Simon Zebo, Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls, Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Mark Flanagan, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (C), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Subs: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Andrew Conway.

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.