Close sidebar

Scotland Make One Change To Team For Ireland Showdown

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND - FEBRUARY 24: The Scotland team celebrate winning the Calcutta Cup following the NatWest Six Nations match between Scotland and England at Murrayfield on February 24, 2018 in Edinburgh, Scotland. (Photo by David Rogers - RFU/The RFU Collection via Getty Images)

Share and Enjoy !

Scotland head for Dublin on Saturday, eager to build on their impressive win over England two weeks ago. The Scots beat their ‘Old Enemy’ for the first time since 2008, and still hold distant hopes of winning the championship.

They’ll put all their focus on getting the win in Dublin, in what would be a huge statement from Gregor Townsend’s side.

There is one change from the side that beat England, as Lions star Tommy Seymour misses out through injury. Blair Kinghorn earns his first start, as Lee Jones makes the bench.

Townsend was pleased with the showing against England, and sent out a warning that there’s more to come.

“Our players had prepared very well for the challenge of taking on England and there has been a similar focus and commitment this week at training.

“There are a few areas of our game that we are working to improve and we are aware that we will have to be better if we are to beat a very good Ireland side in Dublin.”

Scotland team to face Ireland:

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 58 caps
14. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – 1 cap
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps
12. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 32 caps
10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 35 caps
9. Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne) – 61 caps
1. Gordon Reid (London Irish) – 30 caps
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 15 caps
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 7 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 21 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 41 caps
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets) – 69 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 18 caps
8. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 35 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 29 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps
18. Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) – 20 caps
19. Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 34 caps
20. David Denton (Worcester Warriors) – 37 caps
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps
22. Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps
23. Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 7 caps

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at