Close sidebar

Steff Evans Free To Play In Pro12 Final Vs Munster Despite Red Card Tackle On Garry Ringrose

Despite being sent off in the first half of his side’s shock 27-15 victory over Leinster in the PRO12 semi-final at the RDS last Friday, Scarlets winger Steff Evans will be allowed to start against Munster in the competition’s decider this coming weekend.

Having scored Scarlets’ opening try just ten minutes in, Evans saw red in the 38th minute for a tackle on Leinster centre Garry Ringrose which was deemed to be dangerous by referee Marius Mitrea and the TMO.

However, a disciplinary panel today overruled the decision of the match officials and rescinded the red card, claiming that Evans’ tackle had not initially been dangerous but was made so by the subsequent involvement of his teammate, prop Samson Lee.

Evans has been a prolific try-scorer for Scarlets in their 2016-2017 PRO12 campaign, crossing the line on 12 occasions. Thus, the decision of the disciplinary panel could be a real game changer.

Munster booked their place in the final with a dominant 23-3 win over Ospreys at Thomond Park on Saturday. The southern province will be looking to secure their fourth PRO12 title at the Aviva on Saturday. Scarlets will look to win only their second, having previously won the competition in the 2003-2004 season. This is the first time that the Llannelli outfit have made the final since then.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.