Close sidebar

Quade Cooper Named As Barbarians Captain For Australia Clash

Share and Enjoy !

Quade Cooper has been named as captain for the Barbarians clash against Australia in Sydney this Saturday as the Baa-Baas have revealed their team at Barbarianfc.

The experienced Queensland Reds fly-half leads a talented young team as he makes his debut for the famous invitational side.

Seventy-times capped Cooper who was left out of Australia’s Rugby Championship squad, is the most experienced Test campaigner in the match-day squad.

In an exciting backline, the former Toulon back is joined by Chiefs and Samoa full-back Tim Nanai-Williams, New Zealanders Augustine Pulu and George Moala and fellow countrymen Taqele Naiyaravoro, Eto Nabuli and Tom Banks.

While the starting forward eight has a very strong Australian feel to it with all Aussies in the pack including vice-captain Matt Hodgson, skipper of the recently cut Western Force and 58 times-capped former Wallaby back-row Wycliff Palu, currently plying his trade in Japan, who comes in for the injured Jacques Potgieter.

While on the bench the vastly experienced Australia and Brumbies prop Ben Alexander comes into the match-day 23 because of an injury the Queensland Reds prop Sef Fa’agase while versatile Waratahs back Andrew Kellaway and 18-year-old Sydney University youngster Theo Strang, are also among the reserves.

With a backline boasting plenty of skill and attacking intent and a pack full of ball-handlers versus an Australia team who play a thrilling brand of attacking rugby, it should make for a really entertaining clash at the Allianz stadium.

With the game a final tune-up for Michael Cheika’s men before they take on Japan, Wales, Scotland and England next month in their end of year tour.

Here’s the team:

15. Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs & Samoa)

14. Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs & Australia)

13. Tom Banks (Brumbies)

12. George Moala (Blues & New Zealand)

11. Eto Nabuli (Reds & Australia)

10. Quade Cooper (Reds & Australia, captain)

9. Augustine Pulu (Blues & New Zealand)

1. Pekahou Cowan (Force & Australia)

2. Andrew Ready (Reds)

3. Taniela Tupou (Reds)

4. Luke Jones (Bordeaux Begles & Australia)

5. Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia)

6. Isi Naisarani (Force)

7. Matt Hodgson (Force & Australia, vice-captain)

8. Wycliff Palu (Toyota Verblitz & Australia)


16. Anaru Rangi (Force)

17. Ben Alexander (Brumbies & Australia)

18. Salesi Manu (Bond)

19. Matt Philip (Force)

20. Kane Koteka (Force)

21. Theo Strang (Sydney University)

22. Sam Greene (Toyota Verblitz)

23. Andrew Kellaway (Waratahs)

Hefin Jones, Pundit Arena

[gravityform id=”1″ title=”true” description=”true”]

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at