Home Rugby The Official Team Of The Six Nations Has Just Been Named

The Official Team Of The Six Nations Has Just Been Named

After the Six Nations was finally wrapped up last weekend, official partner of the tournament, Accenture, have released the statistical team of the tournament.

England claimed their second successive Six Nations in the Aviva stadium on Saturday even though they fell short of the Grand Slam after an impressive performance from the Irish stopped them at the final hurdle.

The rugby world’s attention has now been turned to the approaching Lions tour of New Zealand. However, before moving on from a fascinating Six Nations, Accenture have released an objective, statistically based team of the tournament.

The old adage goes that ‘the stats don’t lie’. However, on this occasion, it seems that the stats don’t really capture the full picture as the official XV does see some odd names left out.

George North was particularly impressive and is unfortunate to miss out while Scotland’s Finn Russell securing the number 10 jersey also seems somewhat odd after a shocking performance against England and a crucial conversion miss against France in front of the posts.

In total, England and Wales grab three spots each. Scotland and France both take two while Ireland take a whopping five spots.

Check out the full 15 below:

  1. Jack McGrath (Ireland)
  2. Ken Owens (Wales)
  3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)
  4. Joe Launchbury (England)
  5. Courtney Lawes (England)
  6. CJ Stander (Ireland)
  7. Kevin Gourdon (France)
  8. Louis Picamoles (France)
  9. Rhys Webb (Wales)
  10. Finn Russell (Scotland)
  11. Simon Zebo (Ireland)
  12. Owen Farrell (England)
  13. Jonathan Davies (Wales)
  14. Keith Earls (Ireland)
  15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.