Close sidebar

Murray And Stander Headline Six Changes To Munster Starting XV

Munster Rugby Squad Training, UL, Limerick 14/9/2016 Conor Murray Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

Munster welcome back Ireland internationals Conor Murray and Keith Earls to the Munster starting XV to play the Dragons in Rodney Parade on Saturday, with captain CJ Stander also making his first start of the season after coming off the bench last Friday in his season debut against Cardiff.

Murray and Earls return after missing the opening two rounds of the PRO12 due to the IRFU’s player management programme, while Ireland colleagues Donnacha Ryan and CJ Stander also make their first starts of the season in a revamped Munster lineup from the side that lost 24-23 to Cardiff in Cork last Friday night..

Elsewhere fly-half Tyler Bleyendaal returns to the side after overcoming a calf injury sustained in the opening round win against the Scarlets. South African lock Jean Kleyn will partner Donncha Ryan in the second row, while stand-in captain Billy Holland will switch to blindside flanker in place of the injured Tommy O’Donnell.

Munster Rugby Press Conference, UL, Limerick 5/9/2016 Munster Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

The Red Army have a number of new on-field partnerships with Murray partnering Bleyendaal for the first time this season in the halves, while Kleyn and Ryan form a new look front row with Goggin and Earls also forming a new look centre partnership with Rory Scannell dropping out of the match day squad entirely.

One player to miss out entirely though is Rory Scannell, who is recovering from concussion having suffered a head injury in the game against Cardiff.

Munster’s take on the Newport Gwent Dragons in Rodney Parade from 5.15pm on Saturday with the match being broadcast live on Sky Sports.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Keith Earls, Dan Goggin, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Donnacha Ryan; Billy Holland Capt., Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Colm O’Shea.

Jack O’Toole, Pundit Arena

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.