Close sidebar

This List Of Players Leaving South Africa This Summer Demonstrates The Extent Of The Player Drain

Australia v South Africa - The Rugby Championship

The pool of talent available to the Springboks has shrunk in recent years.

South African rugby finds itself in a difficult position, faced with race quotas and a weak currency at home, and TV rich clubs in Europe, the Springboks have watched a steady stream of players depart from the Cape in recent years.

While at one time European clubs were only able to attract players who were coming toward the end of their careers, now the likes of CJ Stander and Johan Goosen are making the trip north in their early 20s.

As a result, not only are they lost to the South African Super Rugby franchises, but in Stander’s case, to international selection.

Although the Springboks have attempted to stem the flow using central contact system, they have been unable to keep the English and French clubs in particular at bay. This summer will be no different, when the exodus will be in full flight with 45 players already listed as leaving South Africa by

Among the list, are 15 current or former Springboks including, Marcel van der Merwe, Vincent Koch, Schalk Burger, Marcell Coetzee and JP Pietersen.

Dean Greyling (Oyonnax)
Marcel van der Merwe (Toulon)
Werner Kruger (Scarlets)
Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (Montpellier)
Le Roux Roets (Racing Metro)
Lappies Labuschagne (Kubota Spears)
Deon Stegmann (Honda Heat)
Grant Hattingh (Kubota Spears)
Jacques Potgieter (Fukuoka Sanix Blues – returns for Super Rugby)
Duhan van der Merwe (Montpellier)

Maks van Dyk (Toulouse)
Coenie van Wyk (Toshiba Brave Lupis)
Henry Immelman (Montpellier)
Willie Britz (NTT Shining Arcs)
Francois Uys (Toyota Verblitz – returns for Super Rugby)

Vincent Koch (Saracens)
Schalk Burger (Saracens)
Nic Groom (Northampton Saints)
Louis Schreuder (Kubota Spears)
Jean Kleyn (Munster)

Marcell Coetzee (Ulster)
JP Pietersen (Leicester Tigers)
Paul Jordaan (La Rochelle)
Joe Pietersen (Kamiashi Seawaves)
Kyle Cooper (Newcastle Falcons)

Franco Mostert (Lyon)
Derick Minnie (Zebre)
Marnitz Boshoff (Connacht)
Warren Whiteley (Docomo Red Hurricanes, returns for Super Rugby)
Jaco Kriel (Kubota Spears, returns for Super Rugby)
Lionel Mapoe (Kubota Spears, returns for Super Rugby)
Elton Jantjies (NTT Shining Arcs, returns for Super Rugby)
Lloyd Greeff (Zebre)
Warwick Tecklenburg (Kamiashi Seawaves, returns for Super Rugby)

Steven Sykes (Oyonnax)
Schalk Oelofste (Mont-de-Marsan)
Philip du Preez (Mont-de-Marsan)
Louis Fouche (Kubota Spears)
Aiden Davids (Toulon)
James Hall (Oyonnax, returns for Super Rugby)
Shane Gates (NTT Shining Arcs)
Jurgen Visser (Docomo Red Hurricanes)

Francois Hougaard (Worcester)

Bart Le Roux (Zebre)

Alan Drumm, Pundit Arena


Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at