Close sidebar

Leinster Name Team To Take On Toulon

Leinster coach Leo Cullen has named the side charged with the difficult task of beating Toulon tomorrow evening at the Aviva Stadium.

Jack McGrath starts at tighthead, joining Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross in the front row.

There is no change in the second row or back row, while Eoin Reddan comes in at scrum-half for the injured Isaac Boss.

Luke Fitzgerald and Ben Te’o resume their partnership in the centre, while Dave Kearney replaces Fergus McFadden on the wing.

Cian Healy is on the bench, while 20 year-old Nick McCarthy could make his debut as a substitute.

European champions Toulon come to Dublin needing a win, having already lost to Wasps in the pool. Leinster have no chance of reaching the knockout stages, after three losses from their first three games, including last week’s away match against Toulon.

Some may be disappointed that Leo Cullen is not seizing the opportunity to give experience to the likes of Marty Moore or Tadhg Furlong, and Garry Ringrose against top class opposition in what is essentially a dead rubber.

However, pride is very much at stake in Dublin 4 tomorrow evening, and the three time Heineken Cup champions will be keen to stop the rot and make a statement at the home of Irish rugby. Considering they took the French giants to extra time just eight months ago in the south of France, Leinster have reason to believe that they can produce the goods.

Leinster team to face Toulon:

15. Rob Kearney
14. Dave Kearney
13. Ben Te’o
12. Luke Fitzgerald
11. Isa Nacewa (captain)
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Eoin Reddan
1. Jack McGrath
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Mike Ross
4. Devin Toner
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jamie Heaslip

16. Sean Cronin
17. Cian Healy
18. Marty Moore
19. Tom Denton
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Nick McCarthy
22. Ian Madigan
23. Zane Kirchner

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.