Close sidebar

Joe Schmidt And IRFU Make Huge Statement As Simon Zebo Dropped For November Internationals

Joe Schmidt has a named a 38-man Ireland squad this Friday afternoon ahead of the upcoming Autumn International series.

Into the squad comes Darren Sweetnam, Bundee Aki, Chris Farrell and Adam Byrne who will all be looking to make their international debuts.

However, there is no spot for Simon Zebo – who recently announced he is leaving Munster for a move to France.

While it is not unusual for players to get left out of the national team after leaving for foreign shores, Zebo’s exclusion before leaving Thomond Park is sure to be a major talking point.

Ireland squad:

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) Captain104 caps

Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 4 caps

Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 10 caps

Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 16 caps

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 70 caps

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 32 caps

Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 1 cap

Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 20 caps

Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 41 caps

Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 49 caps

Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps

Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 40 caps

Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps

Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 16 caps

James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 9 caps

CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 15 caps

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 50 caps

James Tracey (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) 2 caps

Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) uncapped

Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster) uncapped

Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 4 caps

Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 3 caps

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 62 caps

Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) uncapped

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 29 caps

Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 16 caps

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 76 caps

Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 16 caps

Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/UIster) 1 cap

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 57 caps

Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 66 caps

Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 2 caps

Darren Sweetnam (Cork Constitution/Munster) uncapped

Joel Slattery, Pundit Arena

[gravityform id=”1″ title=”true” description=”true”]

Read More About:

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at