Home Rugby Irish Provinces Unveil Their Teams For Pro14 Opener

Irish Provinces Unveil Their Teams For Pro14 Opener

With us now edging ever closer to the start of this season’s Pro14 campaign, we now know how each of the Irish teams involved will line out.

With Connacht, Munster, and Ulster set to play on Saturday and Leinster opening things up on Friday, here are your teams for the opening fixtures of this year’s Pro14 campaign.

Connacht’s starting fifteen for their PRO14 opener against Glasgow Warriors will line-out as follows. They will know full well that they have a lot to improve on after a fairly poor go at it last year – a campaign that saw them crash out in disappointing form.

Ulster will also play their first game on Saturday, taking on Scarlets at Kingspan Stadium. It’s a new-look Ulster outfit and with some serious changes made to their camp in recent months, who knows how they will fare when things get underway.

The big news for Munster was that Joey Carberry will start on the bench for their clash with Cheetahs and one would have to assume that he’ll play a huge role in their push this season.

Munster: Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Neil Cronin; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (C); Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Brian Scott, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Gavin Coombes, James Hart, Joey Carbery, Sammy Arnold.

And finally, Leinster, who kick things off a day earlier than the other provinces in their matchup with Cardiff Blues, also unveiled their team.

The question now is whether they will be able to follow up their extraordinary year last time around with another successful campaign.

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.