Home Rugby Ireland’s Starting XV To Face Italy Announced
joe schmidt, irish rugby

Ireland’s Starting XV To Face Italy Announced

Ireland travel to the Stadio Olympico on Saturday afternoon to face Italy in the first of their Six Nations Championship games. Kick-off in Rome is at 2:30pm.


Paul O’Connell unsurprisingly captains Ireland while try scorers from the Australia game back in November – Simon Zebo and Tommy Bowe – start once again.

Ian Madigan, who scored three penalties for the Wolfhounds against the England Saxons is in the replacements with Ian Keatley stepping into the number 10 breach as Johnny Sexton is out through concussion.


The XV to face the Italians is as follows:

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
14. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
13. Jared Payne (Ulster)
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)
10. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) Captain
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)



16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
17. James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster)
18. Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
20. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21. Isaac Boss (Terenure/Leinster)
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster)
23. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)

Rob Lyons, Pundit Arena

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.