Close sidebar

Ireland And England Legends To Be Inducted Into World Rugby Hall Of Fame

PARIS, FRANCE - MARCH 15: Brian O'Driscoll of Ireland celebrate with the trophy after winning the six nations championship with a 22-20 victory over France during the RBS Six Nations match between France and Ireland at Stade de France on March 15, 2014 in Paris, France. (Photo by Paul Gilham/Getty Images)

The list of inductees into the World Rugby Hall of Fame is to reach 132 as twelve more are added to the list.

To celebrate the official opening of the physical visitor experience in England later this week, the dozen will be inducted in a special ceremony.

Former Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll is among the inductees – the ex-Leinster centre represented his country 133 times over the course of a fifteen-year international career which yielded two Six Nations titles. He also went on four Lions tours (captaining them in 2005) and won three Heineken Cups and one Challenge cup with his province.

DUBLIN, IRELAND - MAY 31: Brian O'Driscoll of Leinster, gestures to fans in the last match of his career after winning the Pro 12 trophy after victory against Glasgow during the RaboDirect Pro 12 match between Leinster and Glasgow Warriors at Aviva Stadium on May 31, 2014 in Dublin, Ireland. (Photo by Patrick Bolger/Getty Images)

O’Driscoll becomes the eleventh Ireland player to be inducted, following in the footsteps of Jack Kyle, Willie John McBride, Syd Millar, Tony O’Reilly, Mike Gibson, Ronnie Dawson, Keith Wood, Basil Maclear, Fergus Slattery and Tom Kiernan.

Four England players have also found themselves on the list. Jonny Wilkinson and Lawrence Dallaglio, both members of the impressive World Cup-winning squad in 2003 (with the latter winning IRB player of the year after that campaign), are both to be inducted, as is former Bath centre Jeremy Guscott.

WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND - JUNE 14: England's Jonny Wilkinson against the All Blacks during their rugby test match played at the Westpac Stadium, Saturday. England won 1513. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

Maggie Alphonsi, meanwhile is one of two female inductees. The former Saracens flanker, who retired in 2015 in order to focus on qualifying for the Rio Olympics in shot put, was part of the dominant England side that claimed six Grand Slam Six Nations titles in seven years.

Former Wales winger Shane Williams, who also retired in 2015, is also in. The ex-Neath RFC and Ospreys winger received an MBE in 2012, and was part of Wales’ Grand Slam-winning Six Nations sides in 2005 and 2008.

CARDIFF, WALES - DECEMBER 03: Shane Williams of Wales in action during the Test match between Wales and the Australian Wallabies at Millennium Stadium on December 3, 2011 in Cardiff, Wales. (Photo by Matthew Lewis/Getty Images)

Rounding off the list are John Dawes and Arthur Gould of Wales, Scotland’s GPS Macpherson, Daniel Carroll of Australia and USA, Japan legend Daisuke Ohata and Canada’s Heather Moyse.


Heineken Rugby Club celebrates and rewards real supporters who make the game what it is.

Heineken Rugby Club – where rugby meets the world.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.