Close sidebar

Experienced All Blacks Named For Rugby World Cup Title Defence

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has named his 31-man squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup campaign.

The big movers and shakers of the team see experienced players Israel Dagg, Jeremy Thrush, Lima Sopoaga and Cory Jane miss out, with Steve Hansen and co. preferring the exuberance of Nehe Milner-Skudder, Victor Vito and Waisaki Nahalo to light up their already blistering attack.

Having been the number one ranked team in the world since 2009 and only losing twice since 2011, the All Blacks will no doubt go into this tournament fully focused and not wanting to let their standards slip.

Recent form suggests the All Blacks will again feature in the play-offs but the likely quarter-final against France at Millenium Stadium will bring back some daunting memories of 2007, where they were knocked out in the same match. If they can get past that banana skin game and into the play-offs then it is very hard seeing any other winner than the mighty men from N.Z.


The All Blacks Squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup is as follows:

Forwards: Tony Woodcock, Wyatt Crockett, Owen Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Ben Franks, Dane Coles, Keven Mealamu, Codie Taylor, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock, Luke Romano, Jerome Kaino, Liam Messam, Richie McCaw (c), Sam Cane, Kieran Read, Victor Vito

Backs: Aaron Smith, TJ Perenara, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Dan Carter, Beauden Barrett, Colin Slade, Ma’a Nonu, Sonny Bill Williams, Conrad Smith, Malakai Fekitoa, Waisake Naholo, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Julian Savea, Ben Smith


Simon van Ryn, Pundit Arena

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.