Connacht dug deep to record a remarkable victory over Wasps in the Sportsground yesterday. Naulia Dawai crossed the line after a well-worked maul to deny the Premiership giants at the death.
However, controversy surrounded the late score as time had elapsed when the Irish side were allowed to kick the ball to touch for a line-out, from which they manufactured their winning try.
Today, the EPCR have stated that the try should not have been allowed, but nonetheless the result will stand.
EPCR would like to clarify an issue arising from yesterday’s European Rugby Champions Cup, Round 4 match between Connacht Rugby and Wasps at The Sportsground.
The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.
However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.
EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.
This comes as no consolation to Wasps fans, who remain incensed at the result.
@ChampionsCup what are you gonna do about it then? Wasps won the game. They should be awarded correct points. Otherwise absolute discrace
— james (@bigtraderjames) December 18, 2016
. @ChampionsCup not good from a top referee, water under the bridge now but in another game result could have meant much more ! @WaspsRugby
— Mark (@ukstevens) December 18, 2016
Heineken Rugby Club celebrates and rewards real supporters who make the game what it is.
Read More About: champions cup, connacht, ecc, jerome garces, late, referee, Rugby, time, Try, Wasps, wayne barnes