Close sidebar

EPCR Statement Declares Connacht’s Late Try Against Wasps Shouldn’t Have Stood

Connacht Wasps

Connacht dug deep to record a remarkable victory over Wasps in the Sportsground yesterday. Naulia Dawai crossed the line after a well-worked maul to deny the Premiership giants at the death.

However, controversy surrounded the late score as time had elapsed when the Irish side were allowed to kick the ball to touch for a line-out, from which they manufactured their winning try.

Today, the EPCR have stated that the try should not have been allowed, but nonetheless the result will stand.

EPCR would like to clarify an issue arising from yesterday’s European Rugby Champions Cup, Round 4 match between Connacht Rugby and Wasps at The Sportsground.

The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.

However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.

EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.

This comes as no consolation to Wasps fans, who remain incensed at the result.

Heineken Rugby Club celebrates and rewards real supporters who make the game what it is.

Heineken Rugby Club – where rugby meets the world.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.