Close sidebar

England’s World Cup Pool Has Now Been Confirmed

England World Cup

Following the thrilling conclusion of the Lions tour last week, attentions have already turned to two years time and the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

The draw was made for the pool stages of the competition earlier this year with the final spots in each group to be confirmed by later results.

Pool C consisted of England, France, Argentina, USA and “Oceania 2”. That final team has now been confirmed to be Tonga following Samoa’s failure to get a losing bonus point in their clash with Fiji. A hat-trick from Henry Seniloli helped the John McKee’s side run out 38-16 winners in Apia this morning.

While Tonga may not be the most daunting of opponents, Pool C unquestionably remains the “group of death” with one of England, France and Argentina set to miss out on the knockout stages. It’s the second World Cup in a row that the Red Rose have been handed a tough draw after they were pitted against Australia and Wales in 2015.

Defeats to both countries saw Stuart Lancaster’s side exit the competition having put up the worse showing for any tournament host.

However, the back-to-back Six Nations winners are now one of the favourites to lift the trophy in Japan following their recent resurgence under Eddie Jones.

[gravityform id=”1″ title=”true” description=”true”]

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.