Close sidebar

Three-Man Shortlist Announced For England Player Of The Year

BAGSHOT, ENGLAND - MARCH 16: Owen Farrell catches the ball during the England training session held at Pennyhill Park on March 16, 2017 in Bagshot, England. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

The Rugby Players Association has confirmed a three-man list of nominees for the England Player of the Year award.

The three nominees are Northampton’s Courtney Lawes, Wasps’ Joe Launchbury and Saracens fly-half Owen Farrell.

The three were all involved England’s recent retention of the Six Nations, as well as contributing to the side’s record-equalling winning run, and all will have at least one eye on Warren Gatland’s Lions squad, which is due to be announced in just over a week.

LONDON, ENGLAND - MARCH 09: England locks Joe Launchbury (L) and Courtney Lawes hold the Triple Crown trophy after their victory during the RBS Six Nations match between Engalnd and Wales at Twickenham Stadium on March 9, 2014 in London, England. (Photo by David Rogers - RFU/The RFU Collection via Getty Images)

Speaking of his nomination, fly-half Farrell spoke highly of his teammates and his pride at the honour of being uo for the award:

“To be nominated by the guys you wear the England shirt with is a massive honour and I’m extremely thankful for their support.

“Playing rugby you want to gain the respect of your teammates and it’s a privilege to represent them with this nomination.”

Lauchbury also paid tribute to his fellow players, expressing gratitude that they had thought highly enough of him to nominate him:

“It’s a huge honour to be nominated by my England teammates and hopefully it reflects the hard work and dedication I have put in this season.To have the recognition and support from my peers is wicked.”

DUBLIN, IRELAND - MARCH 18:  (L-R) Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Maro Itoje and Tom Wood of England celebrate with the Six Nations trophy during the RBS Six Nations match between Ireland and England at the Aviva Stadium on March 18, 2017 in Dublin, Ireland.  (Photo by David Rogers - RFU/The RFU Collection via Getty Images)

And finally, Lawes simply echoed the sentiments of his fellow nominees, delighted that he had been singled out due to his form over the past twelve months:

“It’s a special feeling to be nominated by your peers and I have really enjoyed being part of the team this year.

“We’ve had a very successful 12 months and it’s a privilege to play with such talented players.”

The winner will be announced at the Rugby Players’ Association awards on May 10th.


[gravityform id=”1″ title=”true” description=”true”]

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at