Home Rugby England Name 33 Man Squad To Take On Australia

England Name 33 Man Squad To Take On Australia

England coach Eddie Jones has tonight unveiled a 33 man England squad to take on Australia in the final test match of the Autumn Internationals.

Saracens number eight Billy Vunipola is ruled out of the match through his injury picked up against the Argentinians on Saturday and is likely to be out of action for three to four months.

Eddie Jones was quick to heap praise on his powerful back rower (via Sale Sharks):

“Billy’s been absolutely fantastic for England over the last 11 months and we wish him a quick recovery.”

“He’s a very influential player in the set-up and there’s no doubt he’ll be missed for the game against Australia.

“But where there is an injury there’s an opportunity for someone else. We’ve had five or six front line players missing throughout the series so I’ve no doubt we’ll adapt and work that little bit harder this week. I’m sure the players will respond to this by going up a level and peak for this game.”

In his place Sale Sharks captain Josh Beaumont has been called up. His team mate Mike Haley also joins up with the squad once more.

Continue reading below



Bath lock Dave Attwood returns to the squad after recovering from injury. However, possibly the biggest new name to the squad is Harlequins back rower Jack Clifford, who joins up with the squad once more after a long lay off from a serious ankle injury.

In the backs Alex Lozowski, Semesa Rokoduguni and Marland Yarde compete for places once more, although Wasps utility back Elliot Daly is released from England duty after his red card on Saturday – which may lead to further disciplinary action. His independent disciplinary hearing will be tomorrow evening, with a three person World Rugby panel to be chaired by Kathrine Mackie of Scotland.

England’s 33 Man Squad

Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)
Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Tommy Taylor (Wasps)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Bath Rugby)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Marland Yarde (Harlequins)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Paul Wassell, Pundit Arena

Heineken Rugby Club celebrates and rewards real supporters who make the game what it is.

Heineken Rugby Club – where rugby meets the world.

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.