Eddie Jones Names England Squad To Face Ireland

England coach Eddie Jones has named a 25 man squad to prepare to take on Ireland on Saturday.

The entire 23 from the 61 – 21 thrashing of Scotland is retained, with winger Jonny May and hooker Tommy Taylor also staying with the squad for this week’s preparations.

Whilst it is very likely the coaches will select the same starting XV to take on the Irish, Jones may be tempted to bring in fit-again Billy Vunipola ahead of Wasps’ Nathan Hughes.

Should he be selected, Northampton Saints flanker Tom Wood is in line to win his 50th cap.

Back Elliot Daly continues to progress through his graduated return-to-play protocol.

Regardless of the result this coming weekend, England have already sealed the Six Nations Championship. However, a victory in Dublin would see the men in white seal the world record for most consecutive tier one wins with 19. It would also mean back-to-back Grand Slams for Jones’ team – something that has never been achieved in the Six Nations era.


Forwards (14)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Tommy Taylor (Wasps), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints).

Backs (11)

Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Read More About: Anthony Watson, ben te'o, ben youngs, billy vunipola, Courtney Lawes, dan cole, danny care, dylan hartley, eddie jones, eddie jones news, elliot daly, england rugby, england rugby news, george ford, Jack Nowell, James Haskell, Jamie George, joe launchbury, joe marler, Jonathan Joseph, Jonny May, kyle sinckler, Mako Vunipola, Maro Itoje, mike brown, nathan hughes, owen farrell, tom wood

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. View all posts by The PA Team