Close sidebar

All Blacks Announce Team To Play South Africa On Saturday

CHRISTCHURCH, NEW ZEALAND - SEPTEMBER 15: All Black Head Coach Steve Hansen speaks to the media during a New Zealand All Blacks press conference on September 15, 2016 in Christchurch, New Zealand. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Share and Enjoy !

Ahead of their final Ruby Championship test, the All Blacks have named the team that will face South Africa on Saturday. 

With New Zealand having already won the tournament, as expected, Steve Hansen has made a number of changes to his match day 23.

One of the most notable alterations will be Waisake Naholo’s introduction in place of Julian Savea whilst Sam Whitelock and Jerome Kaino take up the five and six jerseys respectively.

Elsewhere, George Moala has replaced Damian McKenzie in the replacements.

On announcing his revised match day 23, head coach Hansen had this to say to All

“The selectors believe we have picked a strong combination for this Test. We’ve been able to bring fresh players back into the group which is vital at this time of the year and allows us to continue to grow some depth.

“We are especially looking forward to this game as any Test match against South Africa is seen as one of the matches of the season. We’re expecting to be facing a very confident South African team after their win over Australia, and a torrid battle against our traditional foe. We’re expecting them to throw the kitchen sink at us.

“We’ve had a well-planned preparation this week, with the aim of ensuring that we have a full tank come Saturday, and also clarity in our game so that we can bring our own physicality and intensity to the contest.”

The All Blacks match day 23 vs South Africa (with test caps in brackets):

1. Joe Moody (18)
2. Dane Coles (44)
3. Owen Franks (85)
4. Brodie Retallick (55)
5. Samuel Whitelock (80)
6. Jerome Kaino (72)
7. Matt Todd (4)
8. Kieran Read – captain (92)
9. TJ Perenara (24)
10. Beauden Barrett (44)
11. Waisake Naholo (7)
12. Ryan Crotty (22)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (4)
14. Israel Dagg (56)
15. Ben Smith (56)


16. Codie Taylor (9)
17. Wyatt Crockett (53)
18. Charlie Faumuina (40)
19. Liam Squire (4)
20. Ardie Savea (7)
21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (22)
22. Lima Sopoaga (4)
23. George Moala (2)


Rob Lyons, Pundit Arena

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at