Close sidebar

BBC Poll Over 100,000 Rugby Fans To Create Their 2017 World XV

AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - JULY 08: The All Blacks perform the Haka prior to kickoff during the third test match between the New Zealand All Blacks and the British & Irish Lions at Eden Park on July 8, 2017 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

The BBC have just totted up the numbers and produced their combined XV of 2017 after more than one hundred thousand teams were submitted to the British broadcaster by fans across the UK.

In the end, five Englishmen made the cut while four New Zealanders were also included. Three Irishmen had such an extraordinary 2017 that they were impossible to ignore while the team also included one representative from Wales, Scotland and Australia.

The BBC’s team of the year as selected by the fans:

15. Stuart Hogg
14. Elliot Daly
13. Jonathan Davies
12. Owen Farrell
11. Rieko Ioane
10. Beauden Barrett
9. Conor Murray

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Jamie George
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Maro Itoje
5. Brodie Retallick
6. Sean O’Brien
7. Michael Hooper
8. Kieran Read

Of the XV selected, just one player (Michael Hooper) was not involved in the British and Irish Lions’ scintillating tour of New Zealand with the drawn series clearly standing out as the highlight of the rugby year for the average fan.

SEE ALSO – Austin Healey: “Petty, Underhanded Cheating” Is Threatening Rugby

Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at