Close sidebar

Williams Among Four Departures As Munster Announce Further Exits


Munster Rugby have confirmed the departure of four players at the end of the season. 

Duncan Williams, Mike Sherry, Dave O’Callaghan and James Hart will all be leaving the province while Munster have confirmed that both O’Callaghan and Hart will play their club rugby in France next season.

This comes off the back of previous news that Ian Keatley, Stephen Fitzgerald and Jaco Taute will also depart. Keatley will be playing with Benetton next season, Fitzgerald’s loan move with Connacht was recently made permanent, while Taute is joining Gallagher Premiership side the Leicester Tigers.

Williams, in his 11-year career with Munster, made 162 appearances while scoring seven tries.

The 33-year-old has been an integral part of the Munster squad throughout his career and supporters will no doubt remember his crucial intervention against the Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park this season when he made a last-ditch double-tackle.


Sherry, who is currently on loan with Gloucester, has made 108 appearances for Munster, scoring 12 tries after making his debut in 2009.

O’Callaghan made his debut as a 21-year-old against Ospreys in 2009 and the 29-year-old went on to score five tries in 85 appearances for the province.

Hart, meanwhile, made 16 appearances for the southern province in his two seasons with the club, scoring two tries.

In addition to the retirement of Ronan O’Mahony, that’s eight players who are leaving the Munster squad at the end of the season.

Read More About: ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter