Close sidebar

Water-Carrier Blunder Leads To Unintentional Kick At Goal In Aviva Premiership

London Irish recorded just their second victory of the Aviva Premiership season this afternoon when they triumphed 22-9 over Worcester Warriors at theย Madejski Stadium.ย 

The league’s bottom side dominated possession and territory over the 80 minutes and a Piet van Zyl try after 27 minutes set them up for a much-needed victory.

Greig Tonks was crucial to Irish’s win as he kicked 17 points for his side who now close the gap on Worcester to 12 points to keep their slim chances of Premiership survival alive.

There was one very odd moment in the game, however.

London Irish were awarded a penalty which Tonks clearly wanted to kick to the corner. However, the water-carrier brought the kicking tee onto the pitch which by the letter of the law, means that the side who have been awarded the penalty, intend to kick at goal.

Hilariously, once the water-carrier notices his mistake, he attempts to hide the tee under his bib but referee JP Doyle spots this very well and decides correctly that the kick at goal must go ahead.

Of course, Tonks ends up skewing the ball to the left of the post but thankfully for the home side, it didn’t cost them victory and the water-carrier can breathe a huge sigh of relief.

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email seanmc@punditarena.com or on Twitter