Close sidebar

Watch: Jack Carty Couldn’t Believe His Penalty Was Deemed Wide

Unfortunately for supporters of the western province, Connacht’s season is more or less finished.

Their 39-10 loss to the Ospreys on Friday night at the Liberty Stadium rubber-stamped their second from bottom position in Conference A and all but ended their hopes of playing Champions Cup rugby next season.

They would have hoped to have secured fifth position which would have led to a playoff against a team in Conference B for the final allocated Champions Cup spot from the PRO14 but they are now six points behind the Ospreys and the Welsh side have a game in hand.

Their performance was a poor one in Wales on Friday night and their defensive efforts, which have troubled them all season, were on show again.

They may feel a little hard done by due to one incident in the game while the match was still in the melting pot.

Early in the second half, Connacht out-half Jack Carty had an opportunity to reduce the deficit to seven points from the tee but his penalty was adjudged to be wide despite the protests from Carty who wanted the kick to be reviewed by the TMO.

Take a look below:


Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter