Close sidebar

Watch: It’s Impossible To Choose The Rugby Players Ireland Try Of The Year

Share and Enjoy !

It’s that time of year when nominations are announced for various accolades in the rugby season.

Today we have seen Rugby Players Ireland, the body representing professional rugby players in Ireland, announce their nominations for a host of awards.

For the Player Of The Year Award, Conor Murray, Tadhg Furlong, Johnny Sexton and Keith Earls will battle it out for the top prize.

The try of the year nominees have also been announced and we must say, it’s incredibly difficult to choose between them.

Jacob Stockdale’s first try against Wales in the Six Nations which came from a sublime Sexton zip-pass, CJ Stander’s try against England at Twickenham from a sublime Joe Schmidt power-play and Andrew Conway’s individual genius against Toulon in the Champions Cup quarter-final against Toulon are the three tries up for the prize.

Take a look at each of them below and let us know in the comments which one you think is the best and why:

Jacob Stockdale: 

CJ Stander: 

Andrew Conway: 

Rugby Players Ireland and Zurich have today teamed up with Irish international rugby player Keith Earls to announce the nominees for the 2018 Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award. The Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards, one of the biggest nights in Irish sport, will take place on Wednesday, 16th May, at the Clayton Hotel in Ballsbridge. In contention for the much sought-after Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award are four 2018 NatWest Six Nations Champions, Grand-Slam winners, Champions Cup Semi-Finalists and two Champions Cup Finalists, who have all excelled for their provinces and country in an incredible year for Irish rugby:  Keith Earls, Tadhg FurlongConor Murray, and Johnny SextonKatie Fitzhenry, Ciara Griffin and Claire Molloy are nominated for the BNY Mellon Women’s XV Player of the Year 2018, while Jordan LarmourJames Ryan and Jacob Stockdale are nominated for the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year Award.

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter