Close sidebar

Wales Name Strong Team For Clash With Ireland In Dublin

Wales Team

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has named a very strong side for Saturday’s clash with Ireland at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin. 

As expected, Gatland has named many of his front-liners in the starting XV which sees Alun Wyn Jones captain the side.

Wyn Jones, Elliot Dee and Tomas Francis pack down in the front-row while Jake Ball and Alun Wyn Jones form the second-row partnership. Ross Moriarty starts at number eight where he will be joined by Aaron Wainwright and Justin Tipuric in the back-row.

Wales Team

The half-back partnership consists of Tomos Williams and Rhys Patchell while Hadleigh Parkes and Jonathan Davies form a formidable centre partnership.

Leigh Halfpenny starts at fullback as Josh Adams and George North take their place on the wings.

“This is our final preparation match so it is important we get enough rugby into us, get rugby ready ahead of our RWC opener against Georgia which is just over two weeks away,” Gatland said.

Wales Team

“It is important we hit the ground running in Japan and we give the players enough time on the field.

“Saturday is the first time these players would have taken to the field as members of the RWC squad, it has been a big week and it is a big opportunity for players to put their hand up and secure spots for the starting XV in Japan.”

Wales Team To Face Ireland

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (81 Caps)
14. George North (Ospreys) (85 Caps)
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (75 Caps)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (17 Caps)
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (13 Caps)
10. Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (12 Caps)
9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (8 Caps)
1. Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (14 Caps)
2. Elliot Dee (Dragons) (21 Caps)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (42 Caps)
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets) (35 Caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (CAPT) (127 Caps)
6. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (11 Caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (65 Caps)
8. Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (33 Caps)


16. Ken Owen (Scarlets) (66 Caps)
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (30 Caps)
18. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (14 Caps)
19. Adam Beard (Ospreys) (15 Caps)
20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (18 Caps)
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (43 Caps)
22. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints) (72 Cap)
23. Liam Williams (Saracens) (57 Caps)

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.