Close sidebar

Ulster & Clermont Name Teams For Friday Night Blockbuster Clash

Ulster Clermont Teams

Ulster and Clermont Auvergne have named their respective sides for Friday night’s Round 2 Heineken Champions Cup clash at the Kingspan Stadium (KO 7.45pm).

Both sides are coming into this match off the back of opening-round wins. Ulster claimed at scalp at the Rec as they overcame Bath 17-16 while Clermont thrashed Harlequins at home on a final scoreline of 53-21.

Ulster head coach Dan McFarland has made four changes to the starting side which took on Bath last week.

Louis Ludik comes onto the right-wing where he will join Will Addison at fullback and Jacob Stockdale on the left-wing.

The three remaining changes are in the pack.

Eric O’Sullivan comes into the side to start at loosehead as he partners up with Rob Herring and Marty Moore in the front-row.

Ulster Clermont Teams
Iain Henderson and Peceli Yato

Alan O’Connor comes into the engine room to partner Iain Henderson while Sean Reidy makes his return to the starting team at blindside where he will be joined by Jordi Murphy and Marcell Coetzee.

Ulster: Will Addison, Louis Ludik, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring, Marty Moore, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson (Capt.), Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Kyle McCall, Tom O’Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Nick Timoney, David Shanahan, Bill Johnston, Craig Gilroy.

Clermont Auvergne have also named their side and it includes the dangerous Peceli Yato and Alivereti Raka both of whom scored a brace of tries in the win over Harlequins last weekend.

The experienced French duo of Morgan Parra and Camille Lopez are both named on the bench while Damian Penaud and Wesley Fofana both remain unavailable.

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter