Close sidebar

Super Rugby Has Been Reduced To Four, Here Are The Semi-Final Matchups

The Super Rugby quarter-finals took place this weekend and we have now gone from eight teams to four as the semi-finals loom large next week. 

The Waratahs, the Lions, reigning champions the Crusaders and the Hurricanes are the four sides left who will be hoping to secure the championship trophy in two week’s time.

First of all, these teams will need to navigate their last four clashes and the matchups have been confirmed after today’s last game where the Lions beat the Jaguares at Ellis Park in Johannesburg.

Super Rugby Semi-Finals: 

  • Crusaders v Hurricanes – 08.35 am [UK and Ireland time], Rugby League Park

  • Lions v Waratahs – 14.05 pm [UK and Ireland time], Ellis Park

The Crusaders are undoubtedly favourites to retain their crown but they will face a Hurricanes side brimming with talent who will know they have it in their locker to topple the champions.

Meanwhile, the Waratahs will be buoyed by their superb comeback against the Highlanders today but they will have to travel to Jo’burg to take on a Lions outfit who are formidable at home and are determined to make yet another Super Rugby final.

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter