Close sidebar

Nominees For Six Nations Player Of The Championship Announced

Six Nations Player Of The Championship

The nominees for the official Six Nations Player Of The Championship have been announced and unsurprisingly, the list is dominated by Wales. 

A total of six players have been nominated and these were selected by the media. The ultimate winner will be decided by an online vote which you can take part in here.

Voting closes at 12 noon on Wednesday.

There are four Welsh players included and of course, inspirational captain Alun Wyn Jones leads the list as he spearheaded his side to a first Grand Slam since 2012.

Six Nations Player Of The Championship

Josh Adams, whose memorable try against England sealed the win against their bitter rivals is also included and he is joined by his backline partners Liam Williams and Hadleigh Parkes, the latter of which scored against Ireland in the opening 90 seconds while also putting in a try-saving tackle on Jacob Stockdale who looked all but certain score what would have been a crucial try.

Elsewhere, the other two members who make up the shortlist are England duo Jonny May and Tom Curry. May finished as the competition’s top try-scorer with six to his name and Curry had a breakthrough Six Nations as he firmly established himself in the seven jersey.

Six Nations Player Of The Championship Nominees:

  • Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
  • Josh Adams (Wales)
  • Hadleigh Parkes (Wales)
  • Liam Williams (Wales)
  • Jonny May (England)
  • Tom Curry (England)

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter