Close sidebar

Six-Man Shortlist Announced For RPI Supporters’ Player Of The Year

Supporters Player Of The Year

A six-man shortlist for Supporters’ Player Of The Year have been announced by Rugby Players Ireland, the representative body for professional rugby players in Ireland. 

Each of the Irish provinces have representatives among the nominees who have been selected by a panel of experts.

The six players are; Tadhg Beirne (Munster), James Lowe (Leinster), Will Addison (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jack Carty (Connacht) and James Ryan (Leinster).

All six players have been in excellent form for their provinces throughout the 2018/19 campaign.

Beirne, Healy, Carty and Ryan have been consistent figures throughout the season while James Lowe and Will Addison were prominent in the first half of the campaign.

Supporters Player Of The Year

Ulster will hope that Addison can recover from the back injury he picked up during Ireland’s Six Nations campaign so that he can help the northern province in the crucial end of season run-in.

Lowe, meanwhile, has only played twice for Leinster since the red card he received during the interprovincial clash with Munster at Thomond Park in December. His absence has been, in part, due to the unlucky consequence of the ‘non-European’ rule which means that the eastern province can only select two of Lowe, Jamison Gibson-Park and Scott Fardy in European matchday squads.

Supporters Player Of The Year

The winner of the award will be announced at the Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards on Wednesday, May 15th at the Clayton Hotel on the Burlington Road.

Supporters’ Player Of The Year 

  • Tadhg Beirne (Munster)
  • James Lowe (Leinster)
  • Will Addison (Ulster)
  • Cian Healy (Leinster)
  • Jack Carty (Connacht)
  • James Ryan (Leinster)

Voting is now open and you can make your selection, here.

Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter