Close sidebar

Opta Produce Their 2017/18 Premiership Team Of The Season

The Premiership is over for another season and Saracens have re-established themselves as the Kingpins of the English game after easing to victory over the Exeter Chiefs in the final at Twickenham on Saturday. 

There was no shortage of interesting narratives surrounding this season’s campaign. The rise of the Newcastle Falcons and the fall of perceived heavyweights such as Harlequins and the Northampton Saints led to some gripping viewing.

Next season will certainly be interesting too. With Bristol heavily recruiting, they may not be a club who will suffer relegation immediately and Gloucester, who today announced the signings of two Springboks, could finally break the dominance at the upper echelons of the division.

Looking back on this season, there was no shortage of standout performers and Opta have produced their XV of the season based on their ‘unique index system’ which allocates points to players based on their actions in a game.

Opta Premiership Team Of The Season:

15. Jason Woodward (Gloucester)

14. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)

13. Joe Marchant (Harlequins)

12. Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)

11. Olly Woodburn (Exeter Chiefs)

10. AJ MacGinty (Sale Sharks)

9. Nic White (Exeter Chiefs)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

2. Kyle Cooper (Newcastle Falcons)

3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

5. Will Spencer (Worcester Warriors)

6. Zach Mercer (Bath)

7. Thomas Young (Wasps)

8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

Read More About: ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter