Nominees For World Rugby Team & Coach Of The Year Announced

Team and coach of the year

With the 2019 Rugby World Cup set to reach the finishing line this weekend, the game’s governing body have announced the nominees for the World Rugby Team & Coach Of The Year accolades. 

The Breakthrough Player Of The Year nominees were announced earlier this week and World Rugby have now revealed who is in contention for the overall team and coach awards.

All four teams and their coaches that reached the Rugby World Cup 2019 semi-finals have all made the shortlists, along with host nation Japan who, under the guidance of Jamie Joseph, inspired a nation and captured hearts around the world on the way to a first-ever quarter-final appearance.

The shortlists were selected by a panel comprising former international players Maggie Alphonsi, Brian O’Driscoll and Agustín Pichot, alongside former coaches Nick Mallett and Clive Woodward.

The winners will be announced at the World Rugby Awards at The Prince Park Tower in Tokyo, Japan, on 3 November.

World Rugby Team of the Year shortlist



New Zealand

South Africa


World Rugby Coach of the Year shortlist 

Rassie Erasmus (South Africa)

Warren Gatland (Wales)

Steve Hansen (New Zealand)

Eddie Jones (England)

Jamie Joseph (Japan)

Read More About: ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter