Home Rugby New Look PRO14 Conferences Confirmed For Next Season

New Look PRO14 Conferences Confirmed For Next Season

The PRO14 has confirmed the makeup of the two conferences for the next two seasons. 

The current format of the PRO14 has been in place for two seasons with the same teams competing in the same conferences in the last two campaigns.

However, officials have now confirmed that there will some shakeup ahead of the 2019/20 campaign with six teams in total moving conferences.

Using the conference tables completed after Round 21 of the 2018/19 Guinness PRO14 season, teams were ordered from one to 14 based upon their final points totals and then ranked within their union.

PRO14 Conferences

The criteria for placing teams in each Conference relies on competitiveness and ensuring an equal spread of teams from each union are present in both Conferences.

Here are the new conferences:

Conference A

Glasgow Warriors (SCO 1)
Leinster Rugby (IRE 2)
Ulster Rugby (IRE 3)
Ospreys Rugby (WAL 1)
Dragons Rugby (WAL 4)
Zebre Rugby Club (ITA 2)
Toyota Cheetahs (SA 1)

Conference B

Edinburgh Rugby (SCO 2)
Munster Rugby (IRE 1)
Connacht Rugby (IRE 4)
Cardiff Blues (WAL 2)
Scarlets (WAL 3)
Benetton Rugby (ITA 1)
Isuzu Southern Kings (SA 2)

These conferences will be in place for the 2019/20 and 2020/21 campaigns.

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: