Home Rugby Munster & Ulster Name Sides For Penultimate Round Of PRO14 Action

Munster & Ulster Name Sides For Penultimate Round Of PRO14 Action

Munster and Ulster have named their respective sides as they both enter crucial matches in the Guinness PRO14 on Friday night. 

Both provinces are hoping to finish off the season strongly with Munster battling it out for a home semi-final while Ulster will look to improve their chances of securing a home quarter-final.

Munster are currently battling on domestic and European fronts and with their Heineken Champions Cup semi-final clash with Saracens taking place next weekend, head coach Johann van Graan has rested a number of players for their trip to in-form Benetton.

Munster already have a home quarter-final guaranteed but a win in Italy combined with a potential slip from the Glasgow Warriors could put them in pole position for a home semi-final.

There are 11 changes to the team which secured a bonus-point victory over the Cardiff Blues last time out as Mike Haley, Darren Sweetnam, Billy Holland and Chris Cloete retain their places.

JJ Hanrahan will make his 100th appearance for Munster as he starts at out-half while Stephen Archer who comes into the side at tighthead, will make his 150th PRO14 appearance.

JJ Hanrahan

Archer will be joined by Jeremy Loughman and Rhys Marshall in the front row while Fineen Wycherley and Billy Holland pack down in the second-row. The back-row is made up of Cloete at openside, Jack O’Donoghue at blindside and Gavin Coombes at number eight.

Alby Mathewson partners Hanrahan in the half-backs while Dan Goggin and Sammy Arnold form the centre partnership. The back-three consists of Darren Sweetnam, academy player Shane Daly and Mike Haley.

Munster Academy Player Shane Daly

Munster: Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold, Dan Goggin, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Fineen Wycherley, Billy Holland (C); Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, Ciaran Parker, Darren O’Shea, Dave O’Callaghan, Neil Cronin, Bill Johnston, Alex McHenry.


Ulster will be keen to bounce back from their disappointing loss to Glasgow in Scotstoun last time out and they face another trip to Scotland to take on Richard Cockerill’s Edinburgh at Murrayfield.

Dan McFarland and his coaching team have made three personnel changes to the starting XV that lost to Glasgow last weekend.

Iain Henderson returns to captain the side, while Nick Timoney and Academy winger Robert Baloucoune are also included.

Iain Henderson

Ulster: J Stockdale; R Baloucoune, L Marshall, S McCloskey, R Lyttle; B Burns, J Cooney; E O’Sullivan, R Herring, M Moore, I Henderson (Capt), K Treadwell, N Timoney, J Murphy, M Coetzee;

Replacements: J Andrew, A Warwick, R Kane, A O’Connor, S Reidy, D Shanahan, P Nelson, A Kernohan.

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: