Close sidebar

Mike Brown Among Those Cut From England Squad For Springboks

Mike Brown

Share and Enjoy !

Eddie Jones has trimmed down his squad to 25 ahead of Saturday’s clash with the Springboks at Twickenham with Mike Brown one of the most high-profile players who will be returning to their clubs this weekend. 

In addition to Brown, Ben Morgan, Sam Underhill and Michael Rhodes are among those to have returned to their clubs.

Mike Brown

This means that Zach Mercer is likely to make his England debut this weekend while the likes of Manu Tuilagi, Chris Ashton and Ben Te’o are also retained.

Courtney Lawes has also been ruled out with a back injury ahead of Saturday as he joins a long list of players unavailable to Jones.

England 25-Man Squad v Springboks 

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) co-captain
Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby)
Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs)
Brad Shields (Wasps)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens) co-captain
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Jones will name his matchday 23 on Thursday.

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter