Leinster & Ulster Name Teams For PRO14 Action This Weekend

Leinster team

Leinster and Ulster have named their teams for their respective matches in the Guinness PRO14 this weekend. 

Leinster host the Dragons on Friday night at the RDS and head coach Leo Cullen has made a number of changes to the side which produced a narrow 3-0 win over Zebre in Italy last weekend.

Devin Toner will captain Leinster from the second-row for just the second time and he will be partnered by Ryan Baird who earns his first start in the PRO14.

There is also a starting debut for Harry Byrne, the younger brother of Ireland international, Ross. Byrne starts at out-half where he will partner Jamison Gibson-Park in the half-backs.

Leinster Rugby Team v Dragons (caps in brackets):

15. Jimmy O’Brien (10)
14. Dave Kearney (138)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (65)
12. Conor O’Brien (18)
11. James Lowe (32)
10. Harry Byrne (3)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (74)
1. Peter Dooley (65)
2. Rónan Kelleher (5)
3. Michael Bent (128)
4. Devin Toner (234) CAPTAIN
5. Ryan Baird (2)
6. Max Deegan (50)
7. Scott Penny (8)
8. Caelan Doris (20)

16. James Tracy (96)
17. Michael Milne (4)
18. Jack Aungier (0)
19. Ross Molony (86)
20. Will Connors (7)
21. Hugh O’Sullivan (16)
22. Ciarán Frawley (14)
23. Cian Kelleher (8)


Ulster welcome Zebre to Belfast on Friday night and head coach Dan McFarland has made six changes to the team which the Cardiff Blue last time out.

Rob Herring returns from World Cup duty to start at hooker while Nick Timoney comes back into the side in the back-row.

In the backs, there are four changes. There is a new half-back partnership as Dave Shanahan and Bill Johnston steer the ship from scrum-half and out-half, respectively. Matt Faddes and Rob Lyttle also come into the starting XV.

Ulster Rugby Team v Zebre

Ulster: Will Addison, Louis Ludik, Matt Faddes, Luke Marshall, Rob Lyttle, Bill Johnston, David Shanahan, Jack McGrath, Rob Herring (Capt.), Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell, Matthew Rea, Nick Timoney, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Kyle McCall, Ross Kane, Sam Carter, Sean Reidy, John Cooney, Angus Curtis, Craig Gilroy.

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email seanmc@punditarena.com or on Twitter