Close sidebar

Luke McGrath Captains Leinster For PRO14 Clash With Benetton

Leinster Team

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his matchday 23 for the visit of Benetton on Saturday. 

The eastern province have named a much-changed side to the one which overcame the challenge of Ulster in the Heineken Champions Cup at the weekend.

Up front, Jack McGrath starts at loosehead after his move to Ulster next season was confirmed this week. He joins James Tracy and Andrew Porter in the front row. Mick Kearney and Scott Fardy pack down in the second-row while the back-row is made up of Josh Murphy, Max Deegan and Caelan Doris.

Leinster Team

Luke McGrath captains the side at scrum-half and he partners Noel Reid who starts at out-half. Joe Tomane and Conor O’Brien make up the centre partnership while James Lowe, Fergus McFadden and Barry Daly make up the back-three.

Leinster Team

Scott Penny is named among the replacements and he looks set to make his first appearance for Leinster since helping the Ireland U20s to a historic Grand Slam in the Six Nations.

Leinster: Barry Daly, Fergus McFadden, Conor O’Brien, Joe Tomane, James Lowe, Noel Reid, Luke McGrath (c), Jack McGrath, James Tracy, Andrew Porter, Mick Kearney, Scott Fardy, Josh Murphy, Max Deegan, Caelan Doris

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Peter Dooley, Michael Bent, Jack Dunne, Scott Penny, Hugh O’Sullivan, Ciarán Frawley, Jimmy O’Brien.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter