Close sidebar

Johnny Sexton Held In Reserve As Leinster Team Named For Munster Battle


Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced his matchday 23 for Saturday’s Guinness PRO14 semi-final with Munster at the RDS. 

Cullen has made four changes to the team which started against Saracens in Newcastle last weekend.

Dave Kearney comes onto the right wing as Jordan Larmour is shifted to fullback. Rob Kearney drops out of the matchday 23 altogether.

Ross Byrne starts at out-half ahead of Johnny Sexton who is on the bench. Byrne will partner Luke McGrath to complete the halfback partnership.


The tight-five remains the same but there are two changes in the back-row as Josh van der Flier makes his return from a groin injury to start at openside while Rhys Ruddock comes in for Scott Fardy at blindside. Jack Conan remains at number eight.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Jordan Larmour (37)
14. Dave Kearney (135)
13. Garry Ringrose (63)
12. Robbie Henshaw (35)
11. James Lowe (28)
10. Ross Byrne (69)
9. Luke McGrath (111)
1. Cian Healy (206)
2. Seán Cronin (171)
3. Tadhg Furlong (100)
4. Devin Toner (230)
5. James Ryan (29)
6. Rhys Ruddock (159) CAPTAIN
7. Josh van der Flier (71)
8. Jack Conan (87)

16. Bryan Byrne (40)
17. Ed Byrne (43)
18. Andrew Porter (51)
19. Scott Fardy (42)
20. Max Deegan (44)
21. Nick McCarthy (34)
22. Johnny Sexton (158)
23. Rory O’Loughlin (60)

Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU, 35th competition game)
AR1: Lloyd Linton (SRU), AR2: Keith Allen (SRU)
TMO: Neil Paterson (SRU)

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter