Close sidebar

Joe Schmidt Names Ireland Team To Face Italy

Joe Schmidt Ireland team Italy

Joe Schmidt has named his Ireland team to take on Italy in Rome in the Guinness Six Nations on Sunday. 

The Ireland head coach has made four changes to the starting XV which beat Scotland at Murrayfield two weeks ago.

Joe Schmidt Ireland team Italy

In the front row, there are first Six Nations starts for Dave Kilcoyne and Sean Cronin while Tadhg Furlong continues at tighthead. An all Connacht second-row pairing packs down behind as Quinn Roux and Ultan Dillane are named to start. In the back row, Peter O’Mahony, who captains the side, and Sean O’Brien remain in the team while Ulster’s Jordi Murphy comes in at number eight.

The half-back partnership is made up of the experienced Conor Murray and Jonathan Sexton while Bundee Aki and Chris Farrell continue their midfield partnership.

Keith Earls, Jacob Stockdale and Rob Kearney make up the back-three.

Ireland: Rob Kearney, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale, Johnny Sexton, Conor Murray, Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Quinn Roux, Peter O’Mahony (c), Sean O’Brien, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Jack McGrath, John Ryan, Iain Henderson, Josh van der Flier, John Cooney, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway.

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter