Close sidebar

Ireland Name Team To Face Japan On Saturday

Ireland Team Japan

Sean McMahon reporting from Shizouka. 

Head coach Joe Schmidt has named the Ireland team which will take on Japan in Saturday’s Pool A clash at the Shizouka Stadium Ecopa. 

Schmidt has made a number of changes to the side which beat Scotland 27-3 in Yokohama on Sunday.

Ireland Team Japan

In total, Schmidt has made four changes to the starting XV which defeated Scotland as Rob Kearney, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell and Jack Carty come in for Jordan Larmour, Andrew Conway, Bundee Aki and Johnny Sexton.

If it wasn’t for a late foot injury picked up Jack Conan, the Leinster back-row would have been in the team. Schmidt confirmed in the press conference today that the injury isn’t serious and that he should train on Friday but the head coach didn’t want to risk aggravating the injury further.

Ireland Team To Face Japan 

15. Rob Kearney

14. Keith Earls

13. Garry Ringrose

12. Chris Farrell

11. Jacob Stockdale

10. Jack Carty

9. Conor Murray

1. Cian Healy

2. Rory Best (C)

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Iain Henderson

5. James Ryan

6. Peter O’Mahony

7. Josh van der Flier

8. CJ Stander


Sean Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Tadhg Beirne, Rhys Ruddock, Luke McGrath, Joey Carbery, Jordan Larmour.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter