Home Rugby Ireland Name Team For France Six Nations Battle

Ireland Name Team For France Six Nations Battle

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has named his team to take on France in the penultimate round of the 2019 Guinness Six Nations at the Aviva Stadium on Sunday. 

Schmidt has made a number of changes to the side which secured a bonus point victory over Italy two weeks ago.

In the front row, there are two changes as Cian Healy and captain Rory Best return while Tadhg Furlong keeps his place at tighthead.

It’s all change in the second-row as James Ryan and Iain Henderson return to the starting XV.

In the back row, Peter O’Mahony retains his place at blindside flanker while Josh van der Flier comes into the side to start at openside and CJ Stander returns from the facial injury he picked up in the loss against England to start at number eight.

Ireland Team France Six Nations

In the backs, Schmidt has retained the half-back partnership of Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton. Garry Ringrose returns to the side and he starts at outside-centre alongside the ever-present Bundee Aki.

The back-three remains the same with Jacob Stockdale, Keith Earls and Rob Kearney.

Ireland: Rob Kearney, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale, Johnny Sexton, Conor Murray, Cian Healy, Rory Best (c), Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, James Ryan, Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Ultan Dillane, Jack Conan, John Cooney, Jack Carty, Jordan Larmour.

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: