Close sidebar

Ireland Name Side For U20 World Cup Showdown With Australia

Ireland U20s

Ireland U20s head coach Noel McNamara has named his side to take on Australia in the second pool match of the World Rugby U20 Championships in Santa Fe, Argentina. 

Ireland got their campaign off to a perfect start by securing a bonus-point 42-26 victory over England on Tuesday.

Like Ireland, Australia also opened their campaign with a victory as they overcame Italy 36-12.

Both sides will be motivated knowing that a win this weekend will put them in a very strong position to reach the semi-finals.

Ireland U20s

There are two enforced changes to the Ireland squad to play Australia this weekend. Sean French has been ruled out of the tournament because of a facial injury while Iwan Hughes suffered a finger injury which also ends his tournament.

Rob Russell comes into the starting XV at fullback to replace Hughes while Agnus Kenohan and Jonathan Wren continue on the wings.

The rest of the backline is unchanged from the win over England.

Up front, the tight-five remains unchanged while in the backrow, John Hodnett moves from seven to eight to replace Azur Allison who is undergoing the Return To Play Protocols.

Ronan Watters comes in at open-side while David McCann starts at 6.

Aaron O’Sullivan and Max O’Reilly have been called up to the squad in place of French and Hughes but will not be in the side this weekend.

Ireland Team To Face Australia (Saturday KO 2.30 pm) 

15. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
14. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. Stewart Moore (Malone/Ulster)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)
1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
5. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
6. David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)
7. Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. John Hodnett (UCC/Munster)


16. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
17. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
18. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
19. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
20. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
22. Ciaran Booth (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
23. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
24. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
25. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
26. Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter